04-29-2024, 07:36 PM (This post was last modified: 04-29-2024, 07:38 PM by monkeywrench.)
Computer model Fujitsu Esprimo P5710 (Core 2 Duo system)
Motherboard model Fujitsu D2451-a23
Can someone help me unlock the advanced settings on this Phoenix Bios?
Can't convert the omf/ocf file to a format compatible with Phoenix Bios Editor Pro.
I also tried with universal bios backup toolkit to dump it to a 512k file, but Phoenix Editor reports file to large or something...
i attached original files from the Fujitsu site. Last version for this model.
Thanks in advance.
Posts: 1,036
Threads: 5
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation:
9
(04-29-2024, 07:36 PM)monkeywrench Wrote: Phoenix Editor reports file to large or something...
PBE as well as PhoenixTool accept files with aligned data only. Dumps from the memory are usually aligned. Wonder why the editor threw this error.
OCF file is full of "snipac" signatures. This indicates that the file is compressed.
(06-14-2016, 10:45 AM)emuroland Wrote: Managed to unpack the OCF file with e_snipaw, but when i decompress it with phoedecw, drop me an error -Found an error in modules chain list!
Decompression utils are available as part of phoedeco_src.arj package. However, they're not perfect, there is no function to compress file back to OCF format. So you will have to figure out how to install mod bios in some other way.
Also, the utils haven't been updated for a long time, complete decompression often fails.
Here's what I came up with in order to open bios with PBE.
Code:
phoenixdeco & PBE error: 69156 LOGO1 - invalid tail length
phoenixdeco error: 42045 LOGO0 - unreadable "u5", to fix -> (32 32 to 31 31)
phoenixdeco error: 3802A OPROM0 - unreadable "u5", to fix -> (32 38 to 31 31)
PBE error: 3802A OPROM0 - invalid packed and unpacked lengths
phoenixdeco error: 3180F OPROM1 - unreadable "u5", to fix -> (32 32 to 31 31)
PBE error: 3180F OPROM1 - invalid packed and unpacked lengths
PBE error: "This is not a 600 (series) BIOS!" - artificial limitation, use patched PBE
After these actions PBE reads the file with no errors. Options of file rebuild and Setup emulation also work. You'll more likely need to revert those fixes after finishing edits.
The BIOS of Esprimo P5710 is structurally similar to other Phoenix ones and has TEMPLAT module. This means known modification methods should work.
04-30-2024, 10:29 AM (This post was last modified: 04-30-2024, 10:34 AM by monkeywrench.)
Hi @Maxinator500, thank you very much for your time.
I had success opening it, and i can see the "Admin" tab which has the exact settings i was looking for, chipset and ram timings, etc.
I know some bioses reveal these hidden portions with some kind of key pressing combination, however i couldn't find any clue about which key, or key combo.
Do you have any idea where to look for it on PBE?
Also i don't know yet how to turn that tab from hidden to displayed, in the case of me deciding to re-flash it.
I have phoenix winphlash which should be good to re-flash, i think.
Thanks again. Appreciate it.
Posts: 1,036
Threads: 5
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation:
9
(04-30-2024, 10:29 AM)monkeywrench Wrote: I have phoenix winphlash which should be good to re-flash
Winphlash needs BCP flash data appended to main bios file. This data is nowhere to be found. Or it is one of the .omf files? Don't know, I haven't checked.
(04-30-2024, 10:29 AM)monkeywrench Wrote: Also i don't know yet how to turn that tab from hidden to displayed, in the case of me deciding to re-flash it.
There is 2 possible ways of doing this.
1. Move options from an inaccessible tab to another one.
2. Try to make the tab appear after a code patch. Which Sml6397 never said how to do. I am not good in assembly, so don't expect a success if you want to go that way.
04-30-2024, 12:29 PM (This post was last modified: 04-30-2024, 12:30 PM by monkeywrench.)
I can generate a .BCP file from inside the PBE, on the "Bios configuration parameters" window, pressing save button. But i don't know if that's what you're talking about...
Also I'm not sure how to move the tabs. Drag and drop doesn't seem to be thing here, and when i select TEMPLAT0.ROM, the change button is greyed out.
Thanks @Maxinator500
Posts: 1,036
Threads: 5
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation:
9
(04-30-2024, 12:29 PM)monkeywrench Wrote: I can generate a .BCP file from inside the PBE, on the "Bios configuration parameters" window
That's not it.
(04-30-2024, 12:29 PM)monkeywrench Wrote: Also I'm not sure how to move the tabs.
PBE is of no use, except for file rebuild. Else has to be done in hex. I can assist with that.
The main problem is re-flashing. If there's no way you know how to perform it, better forget about unlocking and refer to symcmos utility.
05-01-2024, 01:07 PM (This post was last modified: 05-01-2024, 01:13 PM by monkeywrench.)
Hi Max.
Winplhash can, in theory, make a backup. The thing is that in order to make a backup, it asks me for a new bios file anyway, which is stupid because i'm only selecting "backup bios only" and not "Backup and Flash new"". And i can't provide new one because it must be a .rom, a .ro2, a .wph or .wp2 file, and i have none of those.
Already tried to rename the file from .bin to .rom but Winphlash returns an error: "corrupted interface descriptors in the new Bios file"
It's a just a bummer that it's a way too convoluted process for me probably... That's what i meant.
thank you
Posts: 1,036
Threads: 5
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation:
9